Walkera Rodeo 150 Review: Superior Racing Drone Under $200

Deal Score0

$219.00 $229.00

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Walkera Rodeo 150 Racing Quadcopter with Devo 7 & Camera, White, 37 x 148 x 77mm - $219.00
Price history
×
Price history for Walkera Rodeo 150 Racing Quadcopter with Devo 7 & Camera, White, 37 x 148 x 77mm
Latest updates:
  • $219.00 - September 1, 2019
  • $199.00 - August 3, 2019
  • $218.99 - July 24, 2019
  • $169.00 - July 1, 2019
  • $172.21 - June 18, 2019
Since: June 18, 2019
  • Highest Price: $219.00 - September 1, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $169.00 - July 1, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: November 12, 2019 1:17 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

I usually try to keep my reviews short and concise enough for you to get all the information you need. This week, we are doing the Walkera Rodeo 150 review. As per se, the purpose of this guide is to find out what makes this a great racing drone. Plus, you get to know the pros and cons so that you can make an informed decision. Lately, I have been focusing on racing drones after doing a lot of product research on consumer-based quadcopter.

Racing drones makes up for a small portion of the overall drone pilot community. They are commonly called FPV drones because of the fact that the drone pilots fly in first person view. Unlike professional camera drones, the racing quadcopters are equipped with powerful built-in 5.8GHz frequency that ensures smooth video quality. Anyway, the Walkera Rodeo 150 is sold as RTF (ready-to-fly) which means you can fly the drone immediately after unboxing the package.

In our Walkera Rodeo 150 review, I am going to keep it simple and sweet. So we will go through the design quality, performance, remote controller and features. At the end, you will be able to make your own informed decision whether you should get your hands on the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone. If you have passion for racing and want to take to the skies. This could be a great opportunity to develop your own piloting skill. Without further ado, let’s get the propellers spinning.

Related Article: Top 20 Best Reasons to Buy Drones for Beginners and Professionals

Design Quality

I really liked how the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone is designed. It comes in my two favorite colors: jet black coating with sleek chrome white coating. Which gives this racing drone a nice futuristic appearance. As you can see, the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone is equipped with two antennas which is used for communicating with the transmitter. It is important for FPV racing since it is responsible for transmitting the video to the remote controller which has built-in LCD screen.

Walkera Rodeo 150 Review Drone

The Walkera Rodeo 150 drone comes with motor arms that uses brushless motors for better performance. Compared to toy-grade drones which uses brushed motors, the brushless motors uses less power and deliver higher performance. By providing more RPM for faster flying and stability that allows you to perform precise aerial movement. On the side view, the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone has an empty hole in the front. I thought it is a nice design touch-up to the drone.

At the front of the drone, it is equipped with a 600Tvl mini camera which can deliver quality videos to any of your favorite virtual reality headsets. Design-wise, the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone is built for durability. It is well crafted that makes it resilience and a perfect choice for outdoor flying thanks to its aerodynamic design. This is one of the nicest looking racing drone I have seen so far along with popular quadcopters such as the Bolt and X4 Storm.

Related Article: How to Become Part 107 Certified Remote Pilot: Guide for Beginners

Performance

Usually, the first order of operation is what kind of camera this drone has. It is unwise and hard to explain because the racing drones isn’t like consumer-based quadcopters. As the most important factor for the best performance isn’t about image quality. But peed, agility, maneuverability and durability are the king of racing drones. Without any of these factors, you get a lousy drone and you definitely don’t want that. So, the camera are there to serve their purpose in delivering the best FPV flight experience to you.

Performance-wise, there are three different flight modes you can pilot with the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone. First, there are beginner mode which dumb down the speed and controls. So that beginners can learn the basics of flight mode. Once you feel like you have mastered the flight controls, you can switch the flight mode to intermediate and advanced. There are also an option to fly the drone in freestyle mode. I don’t recommend you doing that if you aren’t an experienced remote pilot.

The Walkera Rodeo 150 drone is very stable, responsive and quite fast. It handles light to moderate winds without any issues. Although, this racing drone has a battery life which gives 6 minutes of flying time. Which is a little bit disappointing. If you do want to extend your flight sessions, I recommend that you purchase additional batteries here. On the positive side note, the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone have a good remote control distance. Plenty of flying room.

Related Article: Top 10 Best Free Drone Apps for Remote Pilots to Use

Remote Controller

The Walkera Rodeo 150 drone uses Devo 7 transmitter. In order to fly the drone, you must bind the drone to the remote controller and activate both on which is actually very straightforward process. On first look, it might look completely complex suitable for professionals only. But that’s not true. In fact, the Devo 7 transmitter is super easy and simple enough for beginners with no prior flying experience to learn how to fly one.

It comes with two levers which are used for controlling the drone’s flight movement. The buttons above the levers are called functions which allows you to command the drone to perform aerial maneuvers. On the button of the transmitter is built-in LCD screen which let’s you see the FPV in real-time as well the status of drone. Because the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone comes with two built-in antennas, it establishes a secured method of communication for precise and responsive controls.

Walkera Rodeo 150 Remote Controller Review

Best of all? You don’t need to use your smartphone or tablets just to view the video in first person. Since the FPV video is very reliable, you can count on that to perform aerial tricks. From every drones I have seen, the Walkera Rodeo 150 has one of the best looking remote controller that will make you look like a professional remote pilot.

Related Article: Top 10 Best and Popular Drones on Amazon for Sale

Bottom Line of Walkera Rodeo 150 Review

Before I conclude the Walkera Rodeo 150 review, we think this is one of the best quality racing drone for beginners to professional remote pilots. It may not have the same performance capabilities as the X-Speed 280 drone has. But it is sure hell as fast and packed with amazing durability that easily makes it one of the best and affordable entry-level racing drone for beginners. If you are concerned about durability, the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone is specifically built for resilience to ensure a long service life.

Even though there are many good things to be said about this little speedster. Its only drawback is that the battery life is short. With a flying time of 6 minutes, you won’t be able to fully enjoy the full obstacle courses and your sessions will be cut short. Which is why we recommended that you purchase additional batteries, perhaps at least three to four batteries should be enough to maximize your flight experience.

If you are a beginner who wants to have a lighting fast FPV racing drone. But you don’t want to spend too much money on it, the Walkera Rodeo 150 drone is the perfect alternative choice to popular and expensive racing drones. It is simple, easy to use and fun to learn. Plus, you get to master your piloting skill and eventually you might race for the Drone Racing League. Who knows? You can check the price here.

8 Total Score
Editor's Review

The Walkera Rodeo 150 is one of the best quality drone packed with incredible speed and durability. Featuring built-in dual antennas for responsive, precise and stable flight controls. This is a little jet bird that truly will deliver endless hours of fun for beginners to professional remote pilots. Perfect choice for entry-level drone pilots.

Design
9
Performance
8
Features
7
Flight Time
7
Camera Quality
8
Value
9
PROS
  • Lighting fast that provides thrill of flight experience.
  • Dual antennas for a complete precise and stable flight controls.
  • Three speed modes, including stabilized and freestyle modes to challenge your piloting skill.
  • Crafted to be durable thanks to high-grade material quality.
  • Unique design that makes you look like a professional remote pilot.
CONS
  • Battery life time is short, we recommended that you purchase additional packs.
  • Remote control distance is limited, however, it is still enough of flying room.
Add your review

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

Aerofly Drones
Logo
Register New Account
Reset Password