SNAPTAIN SP500 Review: Foldable GPS Camera Drone Under $200

Deal Score+2

$159.99 $199.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy Now
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: SNAPTAIN SP500 Foldable GPS FPV Drone with 1080P HD Camera Live Video for Beginners, RC Quadcopter with GPS Return Home, Follow Me, Gesture Control, Circle Fly, Auto Hover & 5G WiFi Transmission - $159.99
Price history
×
Price history for SNAPTAIN SP500 Foldable GPS FPV Drone with 1080P HD Camera Live Video for Beginners, RC Quadcopter with GPS Return Home, Follow Me, Gesture Control, Circle Fly, Auto Hover & 5G WiFi Transmission
Latest updates:
  • $159.99 - January 12, 2020
  • $169.99 - November 30, 2019
Since: November 30, 2019
  • Highest Price: $169.99 - November 30, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $159.99 - January 12, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: March 18, 2020 4:41 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Ever want to fly a smart camera drone that is super easy for beginners with no prior flight experience? In our SNAPTAIN SP500 review, we are introducing this drone. This is a GPS-based drone that features a built-in module, allowing advanced flight functions for simpler flying experience as well as intelligent flight modes.

GPS-based drones are becoming more and more popular. Mainly because they are the perfect choice for beginners. But, also because they are capable of performing advanced flight modes such as Orbit Mode, Follow Me, and even Gesture Mode. If you are looking to have your hands on one of these foldable camera drones that are easy to fly.

Then look no further, because in our in-depth review about SNAPTAIN SP500 drone we will go through all the details. We assembled an in-depth SNAPTAIN SP500 camera drone review to help buyers like you make an informed decision. Stick with us and let’s prop up the propellers to find out whether you should buy this camera drone.

Introduction to SNAPTAIN SP500 Drone

SNAPTAIN SP500 Camera Drone Review

Package Content:

  • CAPTAIN SP500 Drone
  • Remote Controller
  • (2) Batteries
  • USB Charger
  • Propeller Guards
  • Propeller Blades
  • Screwdriver
  • User Manual

Specifications:

  • Flight Time: 15 Minutes
  • Charging Time: 120 Minutes
  • Remote Control Distance: 220 Meters
  • Size (Unfolded): 6.9 x 5.5 x 2.2 inches
  • Size (Folded) 12.9 x 12.9 x 2.2 inches
  • Lens Adjustable Angle: 40°
  • Camera Resolution: 1080P HD
  • Gyroscope Stabilizer: 6-Axis

Unlike toy-grade drones, SNAPTAIN SP500 is a great introductory drone that incorporates powerful flight performance and advanced features that demonstrates its true aerial capabilities. We especially like how this camera drone features a jet black coating that makes it interesting and appealing. Not just only that, the quality material is high that makes it durable and tough.

In addition to that, the foldable motor arms provide a layer of protection against impacts. The camera is 1080P HD and located in the front-mounted on a 1-axis gimbal stabilizer. Which makes it somewhat comparable to the popular Eachine E520S and Holy Stone HS700D Ophelia. When folded, you can easily store SNAPTAIN SP500 in your traveling backpack.

This camera drone is advanced enough that comes with the easy power button. The battery is modularized for simple and fast swapping without any wiring. It is also optimized to deliver better flight performance and energy to the drone. Design-wise, SNAPTAIN SP500 rocks the build & design quality with its modern technology.

Flight Performance

In the next part of the CAPTAIN SP500 camera drone review, we are going to talk about its flight performance. One of the main advantages that this GPS-based drone brings to the table is its impressive flight performance. Thanks to a modularized battery which can deliver power more effectively, resulting in higher RPM and longer flight time.

SNAPTAIN SP500 GPS Drone Review

The integration of the GPS module also helps the drone optimizes its flight performance by minimizing drifting power. Which helps ensure the remote pilot can navigate in the skies with relative ease. Most of the flight performance is easily done through automatic functions such as takeoff/landing.

If you are new to the world of drones. You will be happy to learn with the fact SNAPTAIN SP500 has a two-speed model. By default, it will be at the slowest speed setting so that you can learn the basics of flight controls. Once you master the basics, you can switch to advanced flight mode and experience its true force. Enjoy flying up to 220 meters thanks to the upgraded and professional-level remote controller and up to a total of 30 minutes of flight time.

Features

Believe it or not, SNAPTAIN SP500 is a GPS camera drone that comes with a lot of features. Typically expensive drones such as Phantom 3 and Autel EVO are equipped with a load of features. But SNAPTAIN made it possible with their newest SP500 camera drone. At the price tag that this drone is going for, you can perform intelligent flight modes such as Orbit Mode, Follow Me, and even Gesture Mode.

SNAPTAIN SP500 Drone Features

One of the main advantages that this camera drone brings to the table is the ability to adjust the camera remotely. Because it has a built-in GPS module lets you do that up to the 40-degree difference. Which gives you even more flexibility when it comes to shifting the aerial perspective. In addition to that, you can combine with its precise camera using custom flight waypoints to create beautiful footage.

Aside from that, SNAPTAIN SP500 drone comes with altitude hold, optical flow system, headless mode, and speed mode. For some of you who are not familiar with what headless mode. It allows you to pilot the drone based on the direction you are pushing the remote controller movement lever at instead of flying on the direction the drone is facing at. This feature makes it a lot easier for beginners to fly the drone.

Remote Controller

CAPTAIN SP500 drone review isn’t completed without talking about the remote controller. On our first glance, the remote controller that this camera drone uses is by far one of the best looking. Not to forget to mention that it looks very professional and stylish. It is clean, easy to use and very simple enough for a beginner to understand what each button does.

SNAPTAIN SP500 Drone Remote Controller

We also liked how this remote controller comes with two built-in handle arms that make it easy to handle for prolonged flight session. Furthermore, it has a foldable phone mount holder which lets you insert your smartphone to view the video in real-time. Unlike other remote controllers, this is completely rechargeable via USB charger.

When fully charged, it provides a running time up to approximately 1.5 hours. Which is pretty good for an affordable camera drone with a high-quality remote controller. Although, you can command SNAPTAIN SP500 drone using your smartphones via connecting with the app. Alternatively, you can use your hand motions.

Final Verdict

The main question is should you buy SNAPTAIN SP500 camera drone. If you are looking for a smart camera drone that is easy to fly and packed with features, especially strong performance. Then you should buy a SNAPTAIN SP500 drone. This quadcopter boasts a total flight time up to 30 minutes and a maximum remote control distance of up to 220 meters.

SNAPTAIN SP500 GPS Drone

In addition to that, it comes with a built-in 1080P HD camera mounted on a 1-axis gimbal stabilizer for smooth and precise footage recording. Beginners also will love this drone because it is crafted with high-quality material. Which provides the drone with improved durability and resistance against impact. Thus, making it one of the best drones under $200.

Overall, we highly recommended SNAPTAIN SP500 camera drone to beginners and recreational remote pilots. If you are still curious to see what your other options are, we recommend checking out our best drones under $300 and the best drones under $500. Thank you for reading our in-depth review of SNAPTAIN SP500. Happy flying and fly smart!

8.1/10 Read review
81 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: SNAPTAIN SP500 Foldable GPS FPV Drone with 1080P HD Camera Live Video for Beginners, RC Quadcopter with GPS Return Home, Follow Me, Gesture Control, Circle Fly, Auto Hover & 5G WiFi Transmission - $159.99
Price history
×
Price history for SNAPTAIN SP500 Foldable GPS FPV Drone with 1080P HD Camera Live Video for Beginners, RC Quadcopter with GPS Return Home, Follow Me, Gesture Control, Circle Fly, Auto Hover & 5G WiFi Transmission
Latest updates:
  • $159.99 - January 12, 2020
  • $169.99 - November 30, 2019
Since: November 30, 2019
  • Highest Price: $169.99 - November 30, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $159.99 - January 12, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: March 18, 2020 4:41 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
8.1 Total Score
Editor's Review

SNAPTAIN SP500 is an advanced camera drone that encompasses simple, easy to fly controls, and durable material for beginners. With a good flight time and remote control distance, it has never been that easy to capture high quality stills and videos. We highly recommend SNAPTAIN SP500 for beginners and recreational remote pilots.

8Expert Score
Design
8
Performance
8
Durability
8
Features
8
Camera Quality
7
Price
9
8.1User's score
Design
8
Performance
10
Durability
6
Features
8
Camera Quality
7
Price
10
PROS
  • Built-in 1080P HD Camera.
  • 1-Axis Gimbal Stabilizer
  • Easy to Fly.
  • Affordable.
  • Ideal for Beginners.
  • Integrated GPS Module.
  • Durable Design.
  • Exceptional Craftsmanship.
  • Long Flight Time.
CONS
  • Limited remote control distance.
  • Quality of Camera is Average
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

2 Comments
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. 4.05
    Design
    80
    Performance
    100
    Durability
    60
    Features
    80
    Camera Quality
    70
    Price
    100

    I recieved this as a christmas gift and had never flown a drone before. The phone app is easy to understand and flying it is a breeze. The video quality is pretty good. The range is incredible. For the money this drone is amazing.

    + PROS: Very stable and easy to fly. Good camera and easy to use app. Amazing range.
    - CONS: Controller and drone seem maybe a bit fragile. I won't be testing that
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Leave a reply

    Your total score

    Aerofly Drones
    Logo
    Login/Register access is temporary disabled