Holy Stone HS161 Review: Portable Camera Drone for Beginners & Kids

7.2 Total Score

$79.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy Now
  • Incredible flexible.
  • Easy to fly.
  • Affordable
  • Beginner-friendly.
  • Expert craftsmanship.
  • Built-in flashlight
  • Integrated camera.

Price list

Price history for Holy Stone FPV Drone with Camera for Adults 1080P HD, Foldable Pocket Drones with Optical Flow Positioning, Handheld Camera Mode, Power Bank Function, Flashlight Mode, Modular Battery, 8GB Card, HS161
Latest updates:
  • $79.99 - November 20, 2019
  • $89.99 - October 14, 2019
Since: October 14, 2019
  • Highest Price: $89.99 - October 14, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $79.99 - November 20, 2019

Didn't find the right price? Set price alert below

Set Alert for Product: Holy Stone FPV Drone with Camera for Adults 1080P HD, Foldable Pocket Drones with Optical Flow Positioning, Handheld Camera Mode, Power Bank Function, Flashlight Mode, Modular Battery, 8GB Card, HS161 - $79.99

Description and Review

This week we are introducing another brand new camera drone that is launched by Holy Stone. Meet the Holy Stone HS161 drone, a portable and innovative camera quadcopter for beginners and kids. Before we go any further into the Holy Stone HS161 review, I want to point out that this camera quadcopter is very different compared to traditional drones like HS700 Ophelia, Potensic D88 and even Eachine E511S.

While Holy Stone HS161 drone of course still can fly and perform the same function it is meant to. Holy Stone has taken on a much different approach that focuses on making HS161 a hybrid of flashlight and camera drone. Which is completely new and certainly an interesting idea that has never been tried before until now. We decided to assemble an in-depth review covering this portable camera drone to provide you detailed information about it.

In our in-depth review of the Holy Stone HS161 camera drone, we will go through what is inside the box, design and build quality, features, flight performance, remote controller and more. We think you will find Holy Stone HS161 camera drone to be an interesting quadcopter. Stick with us and let’s get the propeller spinning to find out what the buzz is all about this latest flashlight camera drone.

What’s Inside The Box

To begin our in-depth review of the Holy Stone HS161 camera drone, we are going to briefly talk about what is inside the box. This is my favorite part of doing product reviews and as a matter of fact, I have done this in other popular drones such as SS41 The Beetle and Holy Stone HS150 Bolt Bee. I think this is the most important part because you get to know what is inside the box. Not just that you will become a self-aware shopper, you can also prepare to make additional purchases such as batteries and crash kit if needed.

Holy Stone HS161 Camera Drone Review

Below is the list of what comes inside the box. Check these items out:

  • Holy Stone HS161 Drone
  • Remote Controller
  • 3.7V 1,000mAh Li-Ion Modularized Battery
  • USB Charger Cable
  • Set of Propellers
  • Propeller Spanner & Screwdriver
  • Propeller Guards
  • 8GB Micro SD Card
  • Card Reader
  • User Manual

Design and Build Quality

At first glance, I am impressed with this foldable camera drone in general. It features a jet black coating that gives out professional and sleek appearance. The Holy Stone HS161 drone is smaller than you would think as it can be comfortably handled in a hand. But, because of the Holy Stone’s unique design approach to this camera drone, it acts as an action camera, flashlight, and quadcopter. Which is an interesting design that comes at a somewhat slightly higher price tag than usual?

Holy Stone HS161 Drone Review

Holy Stone HS161 drone can be powered by activating the power button located on the top. It is outfitted with a 720P HD camera in the front that provides a crispy clear visual live streaming directly to your mobile device. The grade quality of material used to craft this camera drone is exceptional. Made with high-quality ABS plastic that provides its stellar durability for a much longer lifespan in addition to resistance against impact.

The searchlight is located at the front assisted with two blue LED lights. We highly recommend installing the propeller guard as it will improve the drone’s overall durability and protection against collision. Finally, it comes with a modularized battery that is easy to replace without having to tinker the wires around like some of its older toy models such as HS160 Predator. Overall, the design of the HS161 camera drone is good.

Flight Performance

In this part of the Holy Stone HS161 review, we think talking about its flight performance is important. But, we also want to point out that its flight performance isn’t just about its ability to fly around. But, its ability to perform multi-role functions such as providing visual assistance during night time and acting as an action camera. If you are truly looking for an incredible flexible gadget that does everything it can without having to purchase separate products. Holy Stone is experimenting with the idea of three-in-one with this drone.

Performance-wise, the Holy Stone HS161 drone has a running time of 10 minutes when in use. Furthermore, it has a maximum remote control distance of up to 100 meters. Which makes it pretty much even to the popular HS160 Shadow and HS160 Shadow Pro. While it is easy for beginners and first-time users to learn how to fly a quadcopter with HS161 camera drone. The only main difference is that these drone users will be able to enjoy camping out during night time.

Not to forget to mention, if you are an avid traveler like me. You will be able to capture and record footage with this drone. Simply keep it in a folded position and start recording videos to capture a special moment. Some customers went that far to say this camera drone is better than some of the action cameras like Victure 4K and Apeman Two. In terms of flight performance, HS161 camera drone is relatively good — not that stellar compared to more popular quadcopters such as Potensic D50 Mirage Pro or Eachine E511.

Beginner-Friendly Remote Controller

The Holy Stone HS161 review isn’t completed without talking about how simple and innovative the remote controller is. This remote controller is perhaps one of the most beginner-friendly controllers I have seen so far. It features levers and buttons that make the whole flying much simpler for beginners and first-time users who have no prior flight experience. Furthermore, it has a mounting hole that can be folded and unfolded. You can insert your mobile device to view live video in real-time.

Holy Stone HS161 Drone Remote Controller

In the back of the remote controller, there are additional buttons located on the shoulders. These buttons are capture photos and record videos. But also these buttons are where you can find speed mode and 360-degree flip. The design of this remote controller is simplified that goes easy on beginners and experienced remote pilots alike. Overall, a great design for the Holy Stone HS161 camera drone.

Customer Experience

The Holy Stone HS161 has an average rating of 4.1 out of 5 in Amazon. With 77% of the reviews comprised of 4-5 star ratings, it is clear that the drone is true to its advertised features. Those who left positive reviews mention how the drone may be small and compact but its features are not. It is easily assembled and good for beginner fliers. Though it doesn’t have a GPS, it stabilizes itself using the gyroscope and “Optimal Flow.” The drone is pretty resilient as well, with its ability to survive minor crashes. If you’re looking for one of the best drones as a beginner or casual flier, the HS161 might just be what you’re looking for.

Final Verdict of Holy Stone Hs161 Drone Review

If you are still considering whether to buy HS161 drone or not. I think you will find this camera drone incredibly useful, not just for its ability to fly but for many other things. However, it lacks good flight time and has limited remote control distance. Combined with its slightly high price tag than normally might turn some potential buyers away. Holy Stone HS161 camera drone, in general, isn’t a bad quadcopter but its performance has some drawbacks.

Ideally, Holy Stone should introduce an upgraded version that improves the drone’s flight time up to 15 minutes and extends its control distance up to 200 – 300 meters while retaining its price tag or a similar level. Not only it will make people more likely to buy it, but to solidify Holy Stone has regional competitors against drone industries that have gained a stronghold in the consumer market like DJI and Potensic.

If you are vying to become an aerial photographer, you would be better off checking these professional-grade camera drones or top 10 best drones under $500. But if you prefer to start on the bottom of the ladder and learn more about drones, then the Holy Stone HS161 camera drone can be bought here on Amazon for under $200. Did you own this camera drone? If so, share your experiences and thoughts about this camera drone with us by commenting below. Stay tuned for more updates on the latest camera drones and upcoming gadgets that are rolling out at the end of 2019.

7.2/10 Read review
72 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Holy Stone FPV Drone with Camera for Adults 1080P HD, Foldable Pocket Drones with Optical Flow Positioning, Handheld Camera Mode, Power Bank Function, Flashlight Mode, Modular Battery, 8GB Card, HS161 - $79.99
Price history
×
Price history for Holy Stone FPV Drone with Camera for Adults 1080P HD, Foldable Pocket Drones with Optical Flow Positioning, Handheld Camera Mode, Power Bank Function, Flashlight Mode, Modular Battery, 8GB Card, HS161
Latest updates:
  • $79.99 - November 20, 2019
  • $89.99 - October 14, 2019
Since: October 14, 2019
  • Highest Price: $89.99 - October 14, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $79.99 - November 20, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: March 15, 2020 12:01 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
7.2 Total Score
Editor's Review

The Holy Stone HS161 is an interesting foldable camera drone that encompasses a built-in flashlight. This quadcopter is designed for outdoor camping that provides a light source when needed. In addition to that, you can easily fly Holy Stone HS161 whenever you want to for enjoyment. Overall, a very flexible quadcopter for beginners.

Design
8
Performance
7
Durability
7
Features
6
Camera Quality
7
Price
8
PROS
  • Incredible flexible.
  • Easy to fly.
  • Affordable
  • Beginner-friendly.
  • Expert craftsmanship.
  • Built-in flashlight
  • Integrated camera.
CONS
  • Short flight time.
  • Limited remote control distance.
Add your review

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Your total score

      Aerofly Drones
      Logo
      Login/Register access is temporary disabled