U45W Blue Jay Drone Review: The Best Camera Drone for Kids?

Deal Score-1

$59.99 $129.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy Now
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Force1 U45W Blue Jay Drones with Camera for Adults and Kids - WiFi FPV Drone Quadcopter with 720p HD Camera and 3 Batteries - $59.99
Price history
×
Price history for Force1 U45W Blue Jay Drones with Camera for Adults and Kids - WiFi FPV Drone Quadcopter with 720p HD Camera and 3 Batteries
Latest updates:
  • $59.99 - December 2, 2019
  • $129.99 - November 29, 2019
  • $125.98 - November 28, 2019
  • $129.99 - November 20, 2019
  • $119.99 - October 24, 2019
  • $113.99 - September 15, 2019
  • $123.49 - September 11, 2019
  • $119.99 - September 7, 2019
Since: June 21, 2019
  • Highest Price: $129.99 - July 31, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $59.99 - December 2, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: December 10, 2019 4:11 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

If you are looking for a best camera drone to get as a present for Christmas or surprise gift. The Force1 U45W Blue Jay drone is the perfect camera drone for kids and beginners. The purpose of our Force1 U45W Blue Jay drone review is to help shoppers like you make an informed decision. In this guide, we will go through design quality, performance, features, and other tidbits that makes the U45W Blue Jay drone the best camera drone for beginners and kids. So, without further ado, let’s dive into the details.

Design Quality

First of all, I really liked how the Force1 U45W Blue Jay drone looks like. Its main body framework is covered in jet black coating that makes it easy to spot in the clear blue skies. Along with streaks of blue coloring that adds tone to the drone’s style. Underneath the drone, there are four LED lights that assists with visual positioning. Two of the LED lights are colored green which indicates forward. Another two LED lights are red that means back of the drone.

Force1 U45W Blue Jay drone review

The quality of material which is used to craft the U45W Blue Jay drone is made of durable ABS Plastic. This is important material because the ABS plastic is better quality compared to toy-grade drones. Since the ABS plastic is designed to be impact-resistant, it can withstand several beating without cracking and still run like a boss. In the package, the drone comes with a set of propeller guards. If you are a beginner, we highly recommend that you install the guards on the drone.

Underneath the U45W Blue Jay drone, it has a 720P HD camera mounted on it. It is especially nice for beginners who wants to be able to capture aerial shots with the drone while learning how to fly one. In addition to that, the Blue Jay drone comes with landing pads which provides soft support for landing. Not only it protects the drone, it creates distance between the camera and the ground. Overall, the design quality is amazing.

Related Article: Top 10 Best Drones Under 200: The Ultimate Buying Guide for Beginners

Performance

The performance is an important part of U45W Blue Jay drone review. Two key factors that you want to know when shopping for the best camera drone is: how easy is it to fly the drone and how durable is it? Since I already answered the second question that the Blue Jay drone is made for durability which addresses the quality of quadcopter. I am going ahead to talk about the ease of use and how easy is to fly this drone.

Like other popular drones such as the Bolt Bee and Mirage Pro, these quadcopters are made for beginners. Thanks to a multitude of beginner-friendly features, the Blue Jay drone have number of flight safety functions. For instance, out of range alarm and low-power warning. This little jet blue bird is equipped with brushed motors which provides the propulsion force that it needs to maintain speed and stability.

The U45W Blue Jay drone responses to the controls with ease and flies precisely. Which makes the drone overall a best choice for beginners and kids. Not to forget to mention that this bird has an average flight time of 6 minutes per battery. Since it comes with two bonus batteries, you will have a total flight time of 18 minutes. In addition to that, the Blue Jay drone has a remote control distance up to 100 meters. At the price tag this drone is going for, I will say it is a real steal. Be sure to check out the U45W Blue Jay drone review video below.

Related Article: Top 15 Best Foldable Drones for Beginners: The Ultimate Starters’ Guide

Features

Luckily for beginners, the U45W Blue Jay drone is packed with a lot of features. In fact, they are designed to be beginner-friendly which helps simplify the flight operations. The two most important features are headless mode and altitude hold function. The altitude hold function is pretty much self-explanatory. For those beginners who don’t know what headless mode means. Basically, the drone flies based on the direction you are pushing the movement lever at.

Along with these two important features, the drone can perform set of functions such as automatic takeoff and landing. They can be done with one button push. In addition to that, the U45W Blue Jay drone can perform 360-degree flips to impress bystanders or audience who are watching you flying the drone. As I mentioned previously in the performance section that this drone has a number of flight safety features.

Force1 U45W Blue Jay drone features review

The Return to Home button allows you to recall the drone with a push of button. This feature will tell the drone to return to its landing point where it flies in a straight line. Plus, the U45W Blue Jay drone features FPV mode. For some of you who are new to flying the drones, FPV means First Person View. To enable this function, you need a working smartphone to livestream the video from drone’s camera. From that point, you can pilot the drone in FPV mode.

Related Article: Best 5 Virtual Reality Headsets for Drones Guide

Remote Controller

The U45W Blue Jay drone review isn’t completed without talking about the remote controller. First of all, I really liked how clean and professional it looks like. At your first impression, it does look a bit complex and bulky. But the transmitter is actually very straightforward and simple enough for beginners. Afterall, this drone is crafted specifically towards beginners and kids. In fact, the Blue Jay drone transmitter comes with a mount holder for your smartphone.

You can easily insert your favorite smartphone and pilot the drone in FPV mode. The controls shown in the image below are simple. On the right part, the lever is used to pilot the drone wherever you want it to go. The button sliders are called trimmers which is used to stabilizes the drone if you notice it is hovering unsteadily. In the middle, it is called the power button which lets you know whether the transmitter is on or not with an orange light above.

Force1 U45W Blue Jay Remote Controller Review

Most of the drone’s features are located on the bottom which is used to help you perform aerial tricks. Finally, the Blue Jay drone transmitter comes with a built-in LCD screen. I thought it is particularly a nice design change. Because it helps keep you in the loop by knowing how fast the drone is flying as well height and other important status. You will need to grab at least four AAA batteries to operate the transmitter.  Design-wise, the remote controller is stylish and simple enough for beginners. A big plus point right there.

Related Article: Top 5 Best Selling and Popular Foldable Drones for Remote Pilots

Bottom Line

Overall, we think the Force1 U45W Blue Jay drone is the best camera drone for beginners and kids. Clearly, this drone is crafted with professional-grade quality which provides amazing durability for a long lasting service life. In addition to that, it has 720P HD camera integrated that gives you the ability to capture pictures and videos. Not to forget to mention that the package comes with a free 4GB micro SD card. Which means you can get aerial footage in its true format.

Another reason why we think the Force1 U45W Blue Jay drone is an amazing drone for beginners and kids is simply it has a lot of cool features. 360-degree flip, altitude hold function, headless mode, speed mode and more. You name it, but the Blue Jay drone is one of the most popular choice for beginners. At the price tag that this little jet black bird is going for. I would say that it is absolutely a real deal. You can check out its price here.

7.8/10 Read review
78 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Force1 U45W Blue Jay Drones with Camera for Adults and Kids - WiFi FPV Drone Quadcopter with 720p HD Camera and 3 Batteries - $59.99
Price history
×
Price history for Force1 U45W Blue Jay Drones with Camera for Adults and Kids - WiFi FPV Drone Quadcopter with 720p HD Camera and 3 Batteries
Latest updates:
  • $59.99 - December 2, 2019
  • $129.99 - November 29, 2019
  • $125.98 - November 28, 2019
  • $129.99 - November 20, 2019
  • $119.99 - October 24, 2019
  • $113.99 - September 15, 2019
  • $123.49 - September 11, 2019
  • $119.99 - September 7, 2019
Since: June 21, 2019
  • Highest Price: $129.99 - July 31, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $59.99 - December 2, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: December 10, 2019 4:11 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
7.8 Total Score
Editor's Review

The Force1 U45W Blue Jay drone is uniquely crafted with impact resistance material that makes it an amazing choice camera quadcopter for beginners. Not only it can withstand crashes, it comes with guards that provides additional layer of protection. Beginners and kids who are looking to fly for a long time will be happy to find out that the Blue Jay drone comes with two bonus batteries. At the price tag and its amazing performance, we think the Force1 U45W Blue Jay drone is absolutely the best deal.

Design
9
Performance
8
Features
7
Flight Time
7
Camera Quality
7
Value
9
PROS
  • Comes with two bonus batteries, which gives you a total flight time of 18 minutes.
  • Crafted with ABS plastic that is made to provide better protection and resistance against impact.
  • Stylish design that makes it quite appealing among beginners and experienced remote pilot.
  • Integrated with 720P HD camera that lets you deliver quality images and videos from the skies.
  • Comes with free 4GB micro SD card that lets you retain the quality of footage in true format.
  • Easy to control, perfect for training beginners and kids to become proficient in piloting the drones.
CONS
  • Limited remote control distance, but that's reasonable for a drone at its price range.
  • Quality of the camera is alright, not the best, but not the worst either.
Add your review

Subscribe to our list

Stay updated with the latest trending drones!

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Your total score

      Aerofly Drones
      Logo
      Login/Register access is temporary disabled