MJX Bugs 5W Review: Best Budget Drone of 2018 With GPS Mode!

Deal Score0

$161.61

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy Now
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: MeterMall Games for MJX Bugs 5 W B5W 5G WiFi FPV with 4K Camera GPS Brushless Altitude Hold RC Drone Quadcopter RTF 1 Battery - $161.61
Price history
×
Price history for MeterMall Games for MJX Bugs 5 W B5W 5G WiFi FPV with 4K Camera GPS Brushless Altitude Hold RC Drone Quadcopter RTF 1 Battery
Latest updates:
  • $161.61 - March 10, 2020
  • $156.18 - February 4, 2020
  • $160.61 - December 15, 2019
  • $150.61 - December 6, 2019
Since: December 6, 2019
  • Highest Price: $161.61 - March 10, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $150.61 - December 6, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: March 14, 2020 4:41 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Meet the JMX Bugs 5W drone. This quadcopter comes with a price tag that can be bought for less than $200 and features series of upgrades over its former predecessor, the JMX Bugs 3. In our today’s week review, I am going to talk about the JMX Bugs 5W drone. The review will be divided into five different categories that explain the pros and cons. The following five categories are: build and design quality, performance, features, camera quality and remote controller.

This review is to help drone shoppers like you become informed of the quality and specifications that the JMX Bugs 5W drone brings to the table. If you have been wanting to buy a professional racing drone mounted with a high-quality camera. Then you have come to the right place. So grab a cup of coffee and sit comfortably while you read the JMX Bugs 5W review. Let’s dive into the details now.

Related Article: Best Drones Like DJI Mavic Air Clones Under $100 For Beginners

Build & Design Quality

On my initial impression, the JMX Bugs 5W drone appears to be a professional-grade quadcopter. Its design is unique and you won’t find anything badass like that on a different type of drones. So, that is something certain that the drone manufacturer has managed in making the Bugs 5W drone look appealing and interesting. In the box, it comes with a drone (obviously), three batteries, a transmitter, two sets of propellers, a set of motor, a gimbal, a screwdriver, a USB charger, an adapter for charging, a balance charger, a propeller nut remover, a sticker, a travel backpack and finally, instructional manual.

At its price tag, it is a lot for a professional quality camera drone. But I gotta say that it comes with three batteries which are a killer deal. On average, a single battery will give the drone a flight time of 15 minutes. With three batteries, you basically can fly for a total of 45 minutes. The downside to that is it takes around three to four hours which can be quite cumbersome. But, I would recommend that you buy an additional charger so that you can charge multiple batteries at the same time. Thereby, reducing the overall waiting time.

MJX Bugs 5W Review Build Quality

Design-wise, the MJX Bugs 5W uses durable ABS plastic that makes it tough against damage. Not only this mid-sized bird can brush off scratches like it is nothing, but its weight also provides natural resistance against wind. The MJX Bugs 5W is equipped with brushless motors which goes easy on the battery’s life by maximizing the performance and reducing the amount of power it needs to draw to operate. Plus, I liked how its landing legs are designed. It looks both high quality and very sturdy enough that gives at least distance from the camera to ground.

Finally, the MJX Bugs 5W drone comes with a cool facial appearance. It gives a unique imitating presence that is captivating. The eyes that you are seeing on the drone are LED lights that are built inside. There are also other parts of LED lights installed underneath the motor arms. This is especially important for visual assistance positioning that helps beginners spot the drone’s location. Overall, the design and build quality of MJX Bugs 5W drone is a top-notch level.

Related Article: How to Become Part 107 Certified Drone Pilot: Guide for Beginners

Performance

The MJX drones have earned the reputation for being the fastest, most precise and super easy to control for beginners. It is no surprise that the MJX Bugs 5W continues the trend. As mentioned previously in the build and design quality section, this drone uses brushless motors. This is important because brushless motors eliminate the friction which means the propellers can spin much faster at reduced power. Thus, delivering more propulsion force for better flight performance. Furthermore, it helps extends the drone’s flight session and durability.

However, the key component in the drone’s performance is a built-in GPS module. Like other GPS drones such as the IDEA7 and VISUO X812 is cutting into the consumer market. Indeed, the GPS drones are becoming affordable and that is a very good thing. Because the drones with built-in GPS module like the MJX Bugs 5W enables communication with the satellites. Which, in exchange, provides a precise hovering position for stability and smooth flight controls.

Along with the GPS module, the MJX Bugs 5W can perform a set of intelligent flight modes like Follow Me and Waypoint Mode. This feature makes the flight operation much easier for beginners and even kids to start flying the drone right out of the box. Not to forget to mention that the drone comes with speed mode which gives a smooth and gradual learning curve. The speed mode is common in almost all of the toy-grade drones such as the Bolt Bee and Sky Beetle. But the MJX Bugs 5W comes with an adjustable speed level that makes mastering the flight controls even easier.

Related Article: 6 Ways You Can Make Money Flying Your Drones

Features

In the next part of MJX Bugs 5W review, I am going to talk about the features. First of all, the MJX Bugs 5W is amazing for experienced remote pilots but also for first-time flyers and beginners who want to have a stylish and smart GPS drone. This mean little blackbird is packed with quite a ton of features. It can perform a smart return to home function to the landing point. Plus, the MJX Bugs 5W is capable of performing automatic takeoff and landing with a mere push of a button.

MJX Bugs 5W Review Features

Not only it makes everything even simpler for beginners, this blackbird includes a built-in barometer altitude hold function. Which detects the changes in air pressure and adjusts accordingly to the level so that the drone can hover steadily. Along with these features, the MJX Bugs 5W encompasses speed mode and intelligent flight mode. If you ever want to travel around the world by yourself, the MJX Bugs 5W Follow Me mode will do the job for you. In the end, this mid-sized drone is packed with features that will give endless hours of fun.

Related Article: 7 Quick and Important Tips for Beginner Drone Pilots

Camera Quality

The quality of the camera is the most important part of the MJX Bugs 5W review. If you are thinking of becoming an aerial photographer someday, you need to start at the bottom of the ladder and learn how to fly a drone first. But also to master aerial photography as well. However, you don’t have to if you prefer to jump ahead and grab one of these professional camera drones to make money. It is not something I would recommend if you are a first-time flyer.

Speaking of the camera quality, the MJX Bugs 5W is equipped with a powerful 1080P HD camera that can capture a high level of detail. It is comparable better to other drones that use low quality 720P HD camera. However, if you want to capture beautiful aerial shots. You need to learn how to take advantage of the lighting quality to catch special moments.

MJX Bugs 5W Review

Because the camera is mounted on a 1-axis gimbal system, you can rotate it remotely via using the remote controller. This makes it very easy for beginners and entry-level photographers to point the camera in the direction they want to capture. While it uses a 1-axis gimbal system, the footage has slight vibration but it is not that too bad. If you are only interested in taking stills, you will not have any issues. But for making video footage, it is better to buy professional-grade drones such as the Phantom 4 Pro.

Related Article: 8 Important Tips That All Drone Photographers Should Know

Remote Controller

The MJX Bugs 5W review isn’t completed without talking about the remote controller. On first glance, the remote controller looks completely professional and stylish. It does look like DJI Phantom 4 remote controller in some sense, except this transmitter has different color and is more interesting. The MJX Bugs 5W remote controller encompasses intelligent control with comfortable and vibration signals that makes it very easy for beginners.

MJX Bugs 5W Review Remote Controller

It also uses advanced two-way wireless technology that provides a reliable connection between the drone and a remote controller. One of the key remote control features that I like is the unlocked model. To unlock the drone, you must push both levers upward than downward. It will establish the connection and you can start flying the drone. Plus, you can mount your smartphone on the remote controller to view the video in FPV mode. In my personal experience, I think the MJX Bugs 5W remote controller has a lot to offer for a drone at its price range.

Related Article: Best Drones Like DJI Mavic Pro Clones Under $100 For Beginners

Conclusion

Before I conclude the MJX Bugs 5W review, I have to say that this is one of the badass drone ever. Its design quality is unique and captivating which is bounded to capture beginners and first-time flyers’ attention. You won’t find anything like this drone in the consumer market. Let’s alone its unique makes it the best competitor. In addition to that, the MJX Bugs 5W comes with a lot of cool features that keep you entertained for hours. Not to forget to mention they are also beginner-friendly!

We think the MJX Bugs 5W drone is truly a professional grade drone built for beginners. It has a long service life thanks to a durable shell that makes it resilient. Plus, its weight provides natural resistance against the wind which makes it the perfect choice for outdoor and indoor activity. The MJX Bugs 5W is well known for its superior speed, nimble, agility and of course a high-quality camera. If you are into racing but want to be able to capture pictures, this drone is incredibly flexible that will suit any type of category. You can check its price out by visiting its official page below.

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: MeterMall Games for MJX Bugs 5 W B5W 5G WiFi FPV with 4K Camera GPS Brushless Altitude Hold RC Drone Quadcopter RTF 1 Battery - $161.61
Price history
×
Price history for MeterMall Games for MJX Bugs 5 W B5W 5G WiFi FPV with 4K Camera GPS Brushless Altitude Hold RC Drone Quadcopter RTF 1 Battery
Latest updates:
  • $161.61 - March 10, 2020
  • $156.18 - February 4, 2020
  • $160.61 - December 15, 2019
  • $150.61 - December 6, 2019
Since: December 6, 2019
  • Highest Price: $161.61 - March 10, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $150.61 - December 6, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: March 14, 2020 4:41 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
8.8 Total Score
Editor's Review

Based on our research and sifting through reviews, we think the MJX Bugs 5W is a professional crafted drone made for beginners and experienced remote pilots. It has amazing durability and is packed with speed that will provide smooth and gradual learning flight experience for all the skill levels. In addition to that, the MJX Bugs 5W comes with features that makes flying the drone much easy. Because of these qualities that the MJX Bugs 5W drone has, we highly recommend this drone for anyone who wants to have a smart starter camera quadcopter.

Design
9
Performance
10
Features
8
Flight Time
10
Camera Quality
7
Value
9
PROS
  • Built-in Camera 1080P HD
  • GPS Module
  • Easy to Control
  • Long Flight Time
  • Good Control Distance
  • Packed with Features
  • Beginner Friendly
  • Very Flexible
CONS
  • Slight Camera Vibration
  • Few Intelligent Flight Modes
  • No 3-Axis Gimbal System
Add your review

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Your total score

      Aerofly Drones
      Logo
      Login/Register access is temporary disabled