Holy Stone HS200D Review

Deal Score+1
Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy Now
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Holy Stone HS200D FPV RC Drone with 720P Camera 120°FOV Live Video WiFi Quadcopter for Beginners and Kids RTF RC Helicopter with Altitude Hold 3D Flips Color Black - $0.00
Price history
×
Price history for Holy Stone HS200D FPV RC Drone with 720P Camera 120°FOV Live Video WiFi Quadcopter for Beginners and Kids RTF RC Helicopter with Altitude Hold 3D Flips Color Black
Latest updates:
  • $79.99 - December 6, 2019
  • $89.99 - November 9, 2019
  • $99.99 - October 3, 2019
Since: October 3, 2019
  • Highest Price: $99.99 - October 3, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $79.99 - December 6, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: March 17, 2020 8:35 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Holy Stone recently launched an upgraded version of its popular HS200 quadcopter (See Price). The Holy Stone HS200D (See Price) is the latest drone to include significant upgrades that make it a serious contender for beginners who are looking to have a mid-sized quadcopter. Whether you are looking for the best drones with an HD camera or a simple toy quadcopter to start with. In my Holy Stone HS200D review, I will tell you all about this drone.

Like every shopper, the first thing that comes to your mind is the durability and ease of use. After all, nobody wants to fly a drone that is hard to control, right? Read our Holy Stone HS200D review to find out more. Now, we are going to dive into the details, starting with the design and appearance of this little black quadcopter.

Design and Appearance

One of the main features that sets the Holy Stone HS200D drone apart from its contenders is the design and appearance. The HS200D drone comes in two colors that contrast from each other: black and white. Though, our impression of the way it is designed to be aerodynamic. As you can see, the body is built with a smooth curve that focuses on negating the air drag and maximizing speed.

Furthermore, it is outfitted with landing legs to soften the impact when it lands. Not only they make a great support module, but it also helps keeps the camera protected and away from the ground. Because of these tiny particles can easily get onto the camera lens. The landing pads help prevent that by increasing the height of the drone’s body. Which is why we think it is a smart move on Holy Stone’s part.

Holy Stone HS200D Review

The package also comes with propeller guards that you can easily install onto. For the first time flyers and beginners, I highly recommend using the guards. Since you will likely crash on the first few flights before you master the controls. Once you have acquired piloting skills, you can choose to keep or remove the guards.

Lastly, the LED lights are located on the front as well around the motor arms. This is an essential feature meant to provide support for visual positioning during day and night flight operations. It also makes a nice show on the night thanks to a colorful style. Your flight doesn’t have to stop when it gets too dark.

Camera Quality

The Holy Stone HS200D takes advantage of its impressive camera quality. Thanks to the upgrades, the HS200D has received optimized 720p HD that ensures smooth live video feed over great distance using the Wi-Fi signal. This means the FPV Mode is much more reliable and streams the video smoother. Using a 2 million pixels (2MP) camera, the drone can capture stills and videos on 720p High-Definition resolution.

Holy Stone HS200D Review Camera

The quality of the camera gives a great opportunity for those who are looking to develop their aerial photography skill. We strongly recommend that everyone who is looking to become an aerial photographer but has no experience with drones to check out affordably priced quadcopters before splurging on a high-end model such as Phantom 4 Pro (See Price), Mavic Air (See Price) or Mavic Pro (See Price).

The camera mounted on the HS200D is adjustable. But it only can be adjusted manually as there is no option to do so remotely. Lastly, the camera lens is wide enough to pick up a lot of objects within a small screen. Which makes it very easy to capture interesting things while recording the videos! However, with that quality, Holy Stone HS200D brings to the table. That puts this little quadcopter in direct contender with more modern and inexpensive drones especially the X12 Drone (See Price) and IN 1802 Drone (See Price).

Performance and Features

In this part of the Holy Stone HS200D review, I will talk about features and performance. Starting with features first, the HS200D drone is packed with a lot of cool stuff! Without using the app on your smartphone, the drone can perform a 360-degree flip. It also comes with headless mode and altitude hold mode. The Headless mode is a beginner-friendly feature that switches the control orientation from drone to the movement of the lever.

The altitude hold function is also another user-friendly feature that helps stabilizes the drone’s height. This allows beginners and first-time flyers to focus more on the movement than worrying about height. There is an option to disable the altitude hold mode if you choose to challenge yourself.

Holy Stone HS200D Review Performance and Features

Along with these features, there are 3-speed modes that provide a smooth learning curve. On default, the HS200 drone will fly on the lowest speed setting. Thus, beginners can learn the basics of controls. However, when it comes to flying the drone outdoor. We highly recommend that you fly on a high-speed setting for the best performance against windy weather conditions. A single battery gives you 10 minutes of flight time, which isn’t too bad. With an app on your smartphone, you will gain access to additional features like capture stills, record videos and an advanced tool such as Gravity Sensor mode.

There are at least three ways to fly this drone: Remote Controller, Virtual Controls and Gravity Sensor that lets the pilots choose their favorite flight method. Performance-wise, the HS200D is incredibly stable and flies with grace. Thanks to its built-in 6 axis gyro stabilization system, it ensures precise and smooth flight experience even a first-timer can fly like professional in a matter of hours!

Final Thoughts on Holy Stone HS200D

Based on our Holy Stone HS200D review, we think this is a great quadcopter. Holy Stone is well known for making exceptional drones like HS150 Bolt Bee (See Price) and HS210 Rogue (See Price). The HS200D is no exception hence it has received much positive feedback from the customers who bought it. With speed, performance, and durability that HS200D brings to the table. It has shown its potential to be an excellent choice for beginners and first-timer. You can grab this little black drone just for under $200.

80 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Holy Stone HS200D FPV RC Drone with 720P Camera 120°FOV Live Video WiFi Quadcopter for Beginners and Kids RTF RC Helicopter with Altitude Hold 3D Flips Color Black - $0.00
Price history
×
Price history for Holy Stone HS200D FPV RC Drone with 720P Camera 120°FOV Live Video WiFi Quadcopter for Beginners and Kids RTF RC Helicopter with Altitude Hold 3D Flips Color Black
Latest updates:
  • $79.99 - December 6, 2019
  • $89.99 - November 9, 2019
  • $99.99 - October 3, 2019
Since: October 3, 2019
  • Highest Price: $99.99 - October 3, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $79.99 - December 6, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: March 17, 2020 8:35 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
8 Total Score
Editor's Review

The Holy Stone has crafted another unique and excellent drone for beginners and first time flyers. This little black bird is packed with agility, speed, durability and excellent performance that makes it a popular choice among beginners. With more than three ways to control the drone, it provides pilots training experience for both controls and aerial photography.

Design
9
Performance
9
Flight Time
6
Features
8
Affordability
8
PROS
  • Easy to Fly
  • Durable
  • Great Performance
  • Enhanced Wi-Fi Signals
  • FPV Mode
CONS
  • Average Battery Life
  • Limited Control Range
  • No GPS
  • Average Camera Quality
Add your review

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Your total score

      Aerofly Drones
      Logo
      Login/Register access is temporary disabled