Holy Stone HS165 Review: Smart GPS Camera Drone Under $200

Deal Score+1

$169.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Holy Stone GPS Drone FPV Drones with Camera for Adults 1080P HD Live Video, Foldable Drone for Beginners, RC Quadcopter with GPS Return Home, Follow Me, Altitude Hold and 5G WiFi Transmission, HS165 - $169.99
Price history
×
Price history for Holy Stone GPS Drone FPV Drones with Camera for Adults 1080P HD Live Video, Foldable Drone for Beginners, RC Quadcopter with GPS Return Home, Follow Me, Altitude Hold and 5G WiFi Transmission, HS165
Latest updates:
  • $169.99 - July 15, 2019
  • $179.99 - July 11, 2019
  • $169.99 - July 10, 2019
  • $164.99 - June 18, 2019
Since: June 18, 2019
  • Highest Price: $179.99 - July 11, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $164.99 - June 18, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: July 19, 2019 11:35 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Holy Stone recently released a brand new smart camera drone featuring foldable motor arms and a built-in 1080P HD camera. This is their latest toy camera drone designed for beginners and recreational remote pilots. Introducing the Holy Stone HS165, a smart GPS camera drone under $200. If you have been on drone hunt for the best quadcopter. Then you have come to the right place because in our in-depth review about HS165 camera drone, we will explain why this quadcopter is the best pick for you.

We are very excited to have our hands on HS165 GPS camera drone, but we are even more thrilled to share the information with you as we review Holy Stone’s latest toy product. Like many other GPS drones, the HS165 camera drone is equipped with smart flight functions and number of advanced safe flight systems that makes flying much easier and simpler for beginners who has no prior flying experience. Without further ado, we are going to dive into the details.

Unboxing The Package:

The box appears to be well designed. There is no damage, bent corners or anything. Moreover, it came with a nice transparent cover that securely holds the box in its place which is definitely a nice addition. To open the box, I simply plop it. Inside the box, I got the following items: HS165 drone, remote controller, notebook, battery, battery charger, transmitter charger, screwdriver, extra propellers, and of course an user manual.

Holy Stone HS165 GPS Drone Review

I really liked how they designed the package layout. It looked like everything is in ordered and placed neatly which makes it easy to pack and unpack whenever you want to go. The box itself weights a little bit heavy, but it is compact and portable enough to be carried around. To see an overview of what to expect inside the package, check out the list below:

Package Content:

  • HS165 Drone
  • Transmitter
  • USB Charger
  • Battery Charger
  • Battery
  • Screwdriver
  • Notebook
  • User Manaul

Design & Build Quality

On the first look, I am impressed with the design and build quality of HS165 GPS drone. This quadcopter is very sturdy, tough, and professionally crafted with high quality material. It isn’t like one of these toy-grade drones under $100 that you will easily break less than a week. Holy Stone truly holds the quality of their drones to the highest standard and I continued to be impressed with their exceptional craftsmanship.

Holy Stone HS165 GPS Foldable Drone

As you can see, the HS165 GPS camera drone comfortable sits on my palm of hand. The drone itself weights almost like a 12oz Dr.Pepper can which is relatively lightweight if you ask me. It comes with foldable motor arms that are folded inwards. To unfold the drone, you simply pull the motor arms forward and activate the drone which features a power button on the bottom.

Holy Stone HS165 GPS Camera Drone

The drone also have built-in LED lights that are located on each motor arms. They are used to provide assistance for visual purpose. It helps you spot the drone during the daytime and nighttime. One thing that captured my attention is the HS165 drone’s camera. It features 1080P HD resolution setting which is actually very good for a smart camera drone. Regarding storing the footage, the HS165 drone have a micro SD card slot. We recommend purchasing 64GB micro SD card to go with this drone.

Holy Stone HS165 GPS Drone Design

Overall, the design of Holy Stone HS165 GPS drone is one of the best. It pretty much beats the quality of Potensic D50 Mirage and Eachine E511S. There is a couple of times where I accidentally crashed this drone into the wall and it came unscathed. It still runs like champ regardless minor scratches on the propellers. We think beginners and recreational remote pilots will appreciate the fact that HS165 drone is a very tough bird.

Camera Quality

As I mentioned previously that HS165 drone is outfitted with a 1080P HD camera. The quality of stills and videos delivered by this little foldable bird is surprisingly good. It utilizes 5G Wi-Fi transmission systems which is used to deliver the footage directly to your mobile devices. The advantages of 5G Wi-Fi over 2.4G signals is that it is more faster, reliable, and promises smoother FPV mode experience.

Holy Stone HS165 Camera Quadcopter

We recommend purchasing 64GB micro SD card to go with this drone. The micro SD card slot is located underneath in the back, which is next to the battery. Stills captured by this drone is crispy clear and easy to see the quality. Although, for the videos, there are some shakiness and tilting as the camera is fixed on drone. If you are looking for a drone that masterfully captures the footage in professional fashion, you would be better off checking out these high-end drones.

However, at the price tag that Holy Stone HS165 camera drone is going for. It does makes a great training quadcopter for beginners who wants to learn how to fly. But also to master their aerial photography skill. Which is an essential step toward piloting high-level drones like Holy Stone HS700 Ophelia and DJI Spark for instance.

Flight Performance

In terms of flight performance, the GPS drones usually fly better and is easier to control for beginners. The Holy Stone HS165 GPS drone is a no exception thanks to integration of GPS / GLONASS module. Which means it communicates with the satellites in order to maintain steady position. In addition to that, the drone is outfitted with barometric function. It analyzes the air pressure and changes accordingly to maintain certain altitude.

Holy Stone HS165 Drone

The introduction of GPS module means smart flight systems. This camera drone can be flown autonomously such as Follow Me, Orbit Mode, and even customizing your own flight track system. These features makes it easy for beginners to create their own flight footages. In addition to these intelligent flight systems, HS165 brings a number of safe flight features such as Smart Return to Home and automatic takeoff / landing.

I took the drone out for several flight tests and I am impressed with its flight performance in general. Getting the drone to start flying for the first time was a little bit difficult as you had to turn off the GPS in order to start piloting. But once you get the drone launching all set in stone, it becomes easy as pea. The drone is incredible responsive and responds to the flight controls with great precision. Plus it has a flight time of 15 minutes and maximum remote control distance of 400 meters.

Remote Controller

The transmitter that HS165 GPS drone uses is professionally crafted. Best of all, it comes with a rechargable battery. So, you don’t even need to buy extra batteries because you can recharge the remote controller via USB charger. It has a running time of approximately 30 minutes which is good enough for two flight sessions. The remote controller is very straightforward and simple, which is one of my favorite thing about this.

Holy Stone HS165 GPS Drone Remote Controller

It also comes with inscription that tells you what each button does. Older drone models like HS170 Predator didn’t come with inscription that made it a little confusing for some beginners who has never flown a drone before. However, if you are new to drone, I recommend reading the user manual which is fairly easy to read and understand. I didn’t have any issues troubleshooting and resolving the problems with this drone.

Holy Stone HS165 Transmitter

On the shoulder of remote controller, there are two buttons. To capture stills and record videos, you can do so with pushing the button. However, if you are learning how to fly a drone. You can adjust the speed setting from slow to fast. By default, the drone will be flying at slowest speed setting. Once you master the flight controls, you can adjust the speed to develop and hone your piloting skill.

Conclusion of Holy Stone HS165 GPS Drone Review

At the price tag that Holy Stone HS165 GPS drone is going for, it is definitely a dealbreaker. This is a smart camera drone with foldable motor arms that will truly deliver exceptional performance. With a flight time of 15 minutes and a maximum control distance of 400 meters, it definitely provides a lot of fun and enjoyable flight experience for both beginners and recreational remote pilots.

Holy Stone HS165 Camera Drone

No other smart camera drones can compete directly with Holy Stone HS165 drone. Perhaps except the Eachine E511S which features similar specifications but with less remote control distance. Overall, we loved the design, performance, specifications and features that this drone brings to the table. It is definitely one of the best quadcopter that is worth the money. You can buy Holy Stone HS165 GPS drone here.

8.7 Total Score
Editor's Review

Holy Stone HS165 GPS camera drone is an unique quadcopter packed with impressive flight time and remote control distance. In addition to its built-in smart flight systems, it makes flying much easier and enjoyable for beginners and recreational remote pilots. If you are new to drones, you will find out that HS165 GPS drone is a powerful, yet potable quadcopter. At the price tag that it is going for, we think you will love this quadcopter. We highly recommend it,.

Design
10
Performance
9
Features
8
Camera Quality
8
Flight Time
8
Price
9
PROS
  • Comes with modularized flight battery that delivers up to 15 minutes per charge.
  • Outfitted with GPS / GLONASS module for improved precision and stability.
  • Can be flown up to 400 meters apart.
  • Features a remote controller with foldable mount holder for your mobile device.
  • Portable and compact, easy to take with you anywhere around the world.
  • Built-in 1080P HD camera that delivers crispy clear image quality.
  • Has micro SD card slot that you can store micro SD card inside to keep footage high-quality.
CONS
  • It is a little bit confusing starting off for the first time, but becomes easier afterwards.
Add your review

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

Aerofly Drones
Logo
Register New Account
Reset Password