DROCON U818 PLUS Drone Review: Best Travel Drone Under $150?

Deal Score+1

$109.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: DROCON U818PLUS WiFi FPV Drone with Wide-Angle HD 2MP Camera,15 Min Flight Time, Altitude Hold, Headless Mode, One-Button Take-Off and Landing, TF Card 4GB Included, Quadcopter Designed for Beginners - $109.99
Price history
×
Price history for DROCON U818PLUS WiFi FPV Drone with Wide-Angle HD 2MP Camera,15 Min Flight Time, Altitude Hold, Headless Mode, One-Button Take-Off and Landing, TF Card 4GB Included, Quadcopter Designed for Beginners
Latest updates:
  • $109.99 - August 7, 2019
  • $69.99 - August 6, 2019
  • $109.99 - July 14, 2019
  • $129.99 - June 25, 2019
  • $119.99 - June 20, 2019
  • $159.99 - April 15, 2019
  • $149.99 - February 26, 2019
Since: February 26, 2019
  • Highest Price: $159.99 - April 15, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $69.99 - August 6, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: August 13, 2019 3:53 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The DROCON U818 Plus drone is one of the best travel drone for beginners and hobbyists looking to elevate their photography to the sky. This mid-sized quadcopter encompasses number of safety flight features such as built-in propeller guards to extends its lifespan. Not only the DROCON U818 PLUS drone is an incredible popular quadcopter, it includes a removable camera that can be mounted or fly without one to enhance its flight time.

That being said, the U818 PLUS is one of the DROCON’s best selling quadcopter along with its other popular quadcopters like the Cyclone X708 and DC-45. It has its own unique style that features landing pads for protection and to act as cushion to reduce the impact of landing. The camera which this drone comes with can capture stills and record videos at 720P HD resolution setting. Plus, it can transmit the image to your mobile device in real-time.

The DROCON U818 Plus is one of the longest running and wildly popular drone that can be bought for less than $200. This drone has a maximum remote control distance up to 15o meters. In addition to that, it uses modularized battery which provides 15 minutes of flight time per charge. It even has its own micro SD card include that you can store all the stills and videos in its true format. Stick with us to find out more it in our DROCON U818 Plus drone review.

Related Article: How to Buy A Drone: The Ultimate Guide for Beginners

Key Features of DROCON U818 PLUS

  • Includes removable 720P HD camera that provides ability to record videos and capture stills up to 720P resolution setting.
  • Built-in barometer that adjusts its air pressure level accordingly to provide stable height level.
  • Intergrated with improved 6-axis gyroscope stabilizer that makes it easy enough to fly the drone around.
  • Professionally designed remote controller that provides connection up to 150 meters.
  • Modularized battery that runs up to 15 minutes and reduces the power consumption for better performance and power efficient.

Drocon U818 Plus Drone Review

 

What to Expect inside the Box

To kick start our DROCON U818 Plus drone review, we are going to talk about what is inside the box. I think it is the most important part of the review because you want to expect what is going to be inside the box. So that nothing goes missing when you get this drone. In the box, you should receive the following items: a drone, a remote controller, a set of propellers, a screwdriver, a battery, a pack of screws, a USB charger, a propeller spanner, and finally an user manual.

DROCON U818 Plus Drone Camera Review

As mentioned previously that the DROCON U818 Plus uses a modularized battery which provides approximately 15 minutes. This puts the drone in the same category as the drones under $200. Even though so, the U818 Plus quadcopter comes with all the necessary gears to get you started. We highly recommended that you buy extra batteries to extend your flight sessions. In addition to that, we encourage you to get a landing pad to create safe landing zone for the drone.

Related Article: Xiaomi FIMI X8 SE Drone Review: Advanced Smart Camera Drone Under $500

Stability and Precise Flight Controls is the Key

One of the main design advantage that the DROCON U818 Plus drone has in the store is its built-in propeller guards. Personally, I think it is a really good design because it provides protection and stability for the drone. As a beginner, it is likely you will accidentally crash the drone onto the wall during your first few flight attempts. The propeller guards ensures that the propellers don’t get chipped off and bounces off when it collides the objects.

DROCON U818 Plus Camera Drone Review

Furthermore, beginners and hobbyists will truly enjoy the DROCON U818 Plus drone’s precise flight controls. Thanks to a number of beginner-friendly features that allows the drone to maneuver with grace and precise. Most of its flight functions are automated which means you don’t have to manually land or takeoff. However, that is still an option if you prefer to have complete control over the drone.

Related Article: Top 8 Best FPV Racing Drones for Beginners

Pros:

  • Integrated with improved 6-axis gyroscope for better stability and smoother flight experience.
  • Built-in barometer that automatically adjusts the air pressure to stabilize its height level.
  • Modularized battery that protects against hazards and provides a great flight time up to 15 minutes.
  • Built-in propeller guards that provides layer of protection against crashes and acts as shock absorber.
  • Good remote control distance up to 150 meters.
  • Adjustable 720P HD camera that can be mounted or dismounted of your choice.
  • Integrated landing pads that acts as cushion to reduce the impact of landing.

Cons:

  • Long Battery Charging.
  • No dual GPS / GLONASS feature, but that’s just a minor drawback.

DROCON U818 Plus Drone

Related Article: The Ultimate Best Camera Drones for Beginners Guide

Conclusion of DROCON U818 Plus Review

If you thought this drone is really good. Then I have few remarks to share with you before I wrap up the DROCON U818 Plus review. Personally, I think this is one of the best and most flexible drone I have come across. It is crafted exceptionally well with durable thick ABS plastic which provides additional layer of protection. In addition to that, it encompasses propeller guards that acts as shock absorber to reduce the impact.

Furthermore, the remote controller is both clean and sharp. It doesn’t involves too many buttons which is a huge plus for beginners, especially first time drone users. Not to forget to mention that you can mount your personal mobile device on the remote controller if you want to view live video in first person view mode. It has a maximum remote control distance up to 150 meters and flight time up to 15 minutes. Which is actually pretty decent for a drone at its price tag.

Finally, if you are looking for a camera drone that is easy to take with you anywhere you go. The DROCON U818 Plus is an excellent quadcopter packed with load of features. From automated functions such as takeoff / landing, headless mode, altitude mode and return to home mode. This is a quality camera drone that will provide you plenty of flying fun. We also recommend buying extra batteries in case you want to extend your flight sessions. You can check out the drone’s price here.

8.7 Total Score
Editor's Review

The U818 Plus Traveler drone is a high quality camera quadcopter packed with loads of features. It comes with its own style and removable 720P HD camera. Thanks to its modularized design, it can be flown up to 15 minutes and have a maximum remote control distance of 150 meters. Which makes it one of the most popular quadcopter for beginners and first time users. We highly recommend the U818 Plus Traveler drone for beginners.

Design
10
Performance
8
Features
7
Flight Time
10
Camera Quality
8
Value
9
PROS
  • Integrated with improved 6-axis gyroscope for better stability and smoother flight experience.
  • Built-in barometer that automatically adjusts the air pressure to stabilize its height level.
  • Modularized battery that protects against hazards and provides a great flight time up to 15 minutes.
  • Built-in propeller guards that provides layer of protection against crashes and acts as shock absorber.
  • Good remote control distance up to 150 meters.
  • Adjustable 720P HD camera that can be mounted or dismounted of your choice.
  • Integrated landing pads that acts as cushion to reduce the impact of landing.
CONS
  • Long Battery Charging.
  • No dual GPS / GLONASS feature, but that's just a minor drawback.
Add your review

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

Aerofly Drones
Logo
Register New Account
Reset Password