Best Value
DROCON DC-65 Drone Review: Portable and Compact Drone for Kids

DROCON DC-65 Drone Review: Portable and Compact Drone for Kids

Deal Score+2

$65.99 $69.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy Now
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: DROCON Bugs 3 Powerful Brushless Motor Quadcopter High Speed Flying Gopro Drone for Adults and Hobbyilists, Blue - $65.99
Price history
×
Price history for DROCON Bugs 3 Powerful Brushless Motor Quadcopter High Speed Flying Gopro Drone for Adults and Hobbyilists, Blue
Latest updates:
  • $65.99 - March 2, 2020
  • $69.99 - February 9, 2020
Since: February 9, 2020
  • Highest Price: $69.99 - February 9, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $65.99 - March 2, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: March 5, 2020 6:49 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Introducing the DROCON DC-65 drone. This is one of the new quadcopters that was released by DROCON, a U.S based drone manufacturer who is well known by some of its popular drones such as the Cyclone X708 and Ninja FPV. We decided to assemble an in-depth review of the DROCON DC-65 drone to help beginners like you decide if this is the quadcopter that you want to start with.

Through researching the drone and sifting the feedback, we will go through the drone’s design quality, performance, features and other tidbits that you should know about the DROCON DC-65 drone. When it comes to shopping for the best foldable drones, you want to keep these two factors in your mind: how durable is the drone and how easy is it to fly? Without further ado, let’s dive into the details and find out!

Related Article: Top 10 Best Drones Under $100 for Beginners and Kids: The Ultimate Guide

Design Quality

On the first impression, the DROCON DC-65 foldable drone comes in jet black coating all around its body framework. Along with a nice couple of orange streaks across its top framework. I like how small the DC-65 foldable drone is. This drone is small enough to comfortably fit into your palm of a hand. One of the main design features that this drone has to offer is foldable motor arms which play an important role in durability and portability.

DROCON DC-65 Foldable Drone Review

Originally, the foldable technology was restricted in most expensive drones such as the Mavic Air and Parrot Anafi. But ever since they were released, the foldable technology has found their way to drones under $50. The foldable motor arms provide natural protection for the internal components against impact. Not just only that, it protects the drone so that it doesn’t break that easy as a standard toy-grade quadcopter would do.

I also really liked how the DROCON DC-65 foldable drone is equipped with a searchlight in the front. It does play a nice role in providing visual assistance positioning during the daytime and nighttime. Plus, the motor arms come with soft plastic pads that help reduces the impact of landing. Overall, the design quality of the DROCON DC-65 foldable drone is solid enough for beginners and kids to fly with grace.

Related Article: Mavic Air vs Mavic Pro: In-Depth Comparison Guide

Performance

In the next part of the DROCON DC-65 Drone review, we are going to talk about its performance. While the DC-65 Mirage looks similar to the popular Mini Scouter and HS190 Quadcopter. It is different in terms of performance, aerodynamically speaking. This foldable drone comes with a high-performance battery that provides approximately 8 minutes of flight time. At its price that the drone is going for, I would say it is a pretty good amount of flight time.

Plus, it has a maximum remote control distance of up to 50 meters. If you are a beginner with no prior flying experience, you don’t have to worry. Because the DC-65 Mirage drone is equipped with an awesome feature called the Speed Mode. Basically what it does is adjusting the speed and performance of the drone. On default, the speed of the DC-65 Mirage drone will be dumbed down. So that you can learn the basic flight controls.

However, the maximum speed mode is true performance. The DROCON DC-65 Mirage drone generally can fly at a maximum flying speed of between 15 to 20 miles per hour depending on the weather condition. Even more so, it features several performance upgrades such as improved 6-axis gyroscope and built-in barometer that focuses on making the drone stable for the best and smooth flight experience. Check out the DROCON DC-65 drone review video below to see the quadcopter in action.

Related Article: Which Phantom 3 Drone is Best For You: Guide for Beginners

Features

We often think that the smaller the drones are, the fewer features they have. But that’s not always true. The DROCON DC-65 Mirage drone is packed with a set of beginner-friendly features. The first two most important features that I think beginners and kids will love to have in a drone are altitude hold function and headless mode. While the altitude hold function is pretty much obvious and doesn’t need an explanation of what it does.

The headless mode is a unique feature crafted toward beginners and kids. It changes the control orientation to the transmitter. Instead of flying based on where the drone is facing, your pilot is based on the direction you are pushing the movement lever at. This feature eliminates a lot of thinking processes while you only have to focus on piloting the drone by the movement lever. Which makes flying the drone a lot easier than before!

DROCON DC-65 Mirage Drone Review

But that’s not all that the DC-65 Mirage drone has to offer. This drone is capable of performing high-speed rotation and 360-degree flip to impress your audience. As I mentioned previously that this drone features a foldable motor arm which is one of the best key features that a drone can have. It focuses on providing beginners and kids simple, portable, yet super easy drone to fly. And its built-in speed mode makes it an excellent training drone to start with.

Related Article: Top 10 Best Drones Under 200: The Ultimate Guide for Beginners and Kids

Remote Controller

First of all, I am impressed with the design quality of the remote controller. This isn’t something that you would normally see for all the drones. It is nicely designed with jet black coating and a durable plastic cover that you can easily store your drone inside. Not to forget to mention that the transmitter also includes a built-in portable charger so that you can charge the drone on the go anywhere you go.

DROCON DC-65 Mirage Remote Controller Review

The controls are nicely designed with clean and sharp raised edges that give you a firm grip on the remote controller. Below the levers are the trimming that is used to help balance the drone if it starts to fly unsteadily. Above the levers are features such as altitude hold function, headless mode, speed mode and such. I liked how the power button is located on the top that makes it easy to power on the transmitter. It also lights up so that you know whether the transmitter works or not.

Related Article: Top 25 Best Reasons Why You Should Buy A Drone for Beginners

Bottom Line

To conclude the DROCON DC-65 drone review, I think this is a high-quality quadcopter carefully crafted for beginners and kids. Thanks to the set of beginner-friendly features that makes the whole flight experience easy and simple that a beginner with no prior flying experience can fly right out of the box. In addition to that, the drone is made to be durable to last for a long service life thanks to foldable motor arms and high-quality ABS plastic.

But, I think the single most important thing is how easy it is to fly this drone. The DROCON DC-65 Mirage drone is equipped with speed mode that makes the learning curve smooth. Overall, this drone is a great training quadcopter for beginners and kids. Because of that, we highly recommend the DC-65 Mirage drone for beginners. You can check out its price here.

8.2/10 Read review
82 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: DROCON Bugs 3 Powerful Brushless Motor Quadcopter High Speed Flying Gopro Drone for Adults and Hobbyilists, Blue - $65.99
Price history
×
Price history for DROCON Bugs 3 Powerful Brushless Motor Quadcopter High Speed Flying Gopro Drone for Adults and Hobbyilists, Blue
Latest updates:
  • $65.99 - March 2, 2020
  • $69.99 - February 9, 2020
Since: February 9, 2020
  • Highest Price: $69.99 - February 9, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $65.99 - March 2, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: March 5, 2020 6:49 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
8.2 Total Score
Editor's Review

The DROCON DC-65 Mirage drone is a durable, high-quality quadcopter that encompasses beginner-friendly features for the best flight experience. It is simple, compact and portable that definitely will provide you endless hours of fun. Not only just that, this drone has a good amount of flight time with reasonable remote control distance. The DC-65 Mirage drone is the best choice for beginners and kids looking to spend less than $50.

Design
9
Performance
8
Features
7
Flight Time
7
Value
10
PROS
  • Good amount of flight time up to 8 minutes per charge.
  • Foldable motor arms that provides portability and compact.
  • Crafted with durable ABS plastic which adds layer of protection and makes it impact resistant.
  • Includes a remote controller with storage for drone protected by durable plastic cover.
  • Affordable for beginners and kids looking to own their first drone.
  • Simple and easy to fly for anyone even without prior flying experience.
CONS
  • Battery is not replaceable.
  • Limited remote control distance.
Add your review

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Your total score

      Aerofly Drones
      Logo
      Login/Register access is temporary disabled