Cheerwing W1PRO Review: Smart Camera Drone for Beginners

Deal Score+6

$129.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy Now
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Cheerwing W1PRO GPS Drone with 1080P Camera for Adults, Quadcopter with Brushless Motor, Auto Return Home, Follow Me, Gesture Control, Long Flight Time - $129.99
Price history
×
Price history for Cheerwing W1PRO GPS Drone with 1080P Camera for Adults, Quadcopter with Brushless Motor, Auto Return Home, Follow Me, Gesture Control, Long Flight Time
Latest updates:
  • $129.99 - January 10, 2020
  • $149.99 - January 6, 2020
Since: January 6, 2020
  • Highest Price: $149.99 - January 6, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $129.99 - January 10, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: February 21, 2020 8:09 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Cheerwing recently launched a brand new smart camera drone called “Cheerwing W1PRO” that is now available for purchase here. GPS-based drones are becoming more and more popular. Beginners and recreational remote pilots are finding themselves in a tech consumer market that is being packed with several high-quality drones such as HS700D Ophelia and SJRC F11 Pro.

Although, if you have your eyes set on Cheerwing W1PRO drone and want to learn more about it. Then look no further because we scourged the product and performed in-depth research about it. In our review article about Cheerwing W1PRO drone, we will talk about its specifications, build design, features, performance and more.

The purpose of our in-depth Cheerwing W1PRO drone review is to help buyers like you make an informed decision. Too often buyers buy something inexpensive such as HS150 Bolt Bee or Eachine E511. But ends up regretting because they prefer to have a smart camera drone equipped with a GPS module and longer flight time. But I will be the first one to tell you that a camera drone like this is a real deal-breaker. Read more to find out why you should buy Cheerwing W1PRO drone.

Build Quality & Specifications

First of all, this is one of the most interesting drone designs I have seen by far. I especially liked how its body framework comes with an elegant and sleek design that makes it very aerodynamically. Furthermore, each motor arms are propped forward with propeller guards which adds an extra layer of protection against impact. I highly recommend beginners and recreational remote pilots to keep the guards on as it will not impact its performance at all.

Cheerwing W1PRO Drone Camera Review

In the front, the Cheerwing W1PRO drone is outfitted with a fixed 1080P HD camera. Which allows the drone to transmit live video feed directly to you in real-time. Although, there is a minor design drawback since the camera is fixed. Which means when you tilt the drone, the video will tilt along thus making the footage slightly unappealing in contrast to quadcopters that are outfitted with gimbal stabilizer such as DJI Spark.

Design-wise, the Cheerwing W1PRO is a sturdy quadcopter that comes with intelligent flight battery. A single battery provides up to 18 minutes of flight time on a single charge and can be easily hot-swapped. This drone is focused on making it simple enough that beginners can start flying it right away. Cheerwing has succeeded in doing so.

Specification:

  • Size: 295 x 295 x 60 mm
  • Weight: 0.55 lbs (FAA Required)
  • Battery: 7.4V 1,800mAh Li-ion Battery
  • Flight Time: 18 minutes
  • Charging Time: 200 Minutes
  • Controller Battery: 4 AA Batteries
  • Remote Distance: 250 Meters
  • Remote Controller Frequency: 2.4GHz

Flight Performance and Capabilities

In the next part of Cheerwing W1PRO drone review, we are going to talk about its flight performance and capabilities. Getting to know how well this quadcopter performs is one of the most important factors that you need to consider before buying it. Fortunately, the Cheerwing W1PRO is a GPS-based drone. Which means most of its flight performance is done autonomously. So, the only thing you need to focus is on piloting the drone manually as you navigate it around the sky.

Cheerwing W1PRO Drone Flight Performance

With two batteries which each provides up to 18 minutes, you get a total flight time of 36 minutes. At the price tag, this quadcopter is going for, it is a killer deal. Although, you can find drones with superior remote control distance such as Eachine EX3 and Potensic D88 which have tripled the amount of distance that Cheerwing W1PRO drone has.

Not only that it is incredibly easy enough for beginners who have no prior flight experience. The Cheerwing W1PRO drone is outfitted with intelligent flight modes that automate the whole flight experience for beginners. You will not have to worry about stability or precise flight controls. In addition to its integrated six-axis gyroscope and optical flow system, it boasts strong aerial performance that lets you fly the drone outdoor with relative ease.

Smart Features

Believe it or not, the Cheerwing W1PRO drone is jock full with smart features. Combined with several intelligent flight modes, safety flight modes, and beginner-friendly features. This drone is truly a quadcopter designed for beginners and recreational remote pilots. That being said, let’s find out the types of intelligent flight modes it has in the store for you.

Cheerwing W1PRO Drone Features

Smart Return to Home: This is an advanced feature that automatically recalls the drone if the battery is low or out of range. To activate this feature, simply push the button and the drone will hover several feet into the sky and make the zip back to the home point.

Follow Me Mode: This is one of my personal favorite intelligent flight modes. Basically what it does is command the drone to follow anywhere you go. The Follow Me Mode is an intelligent flight mode that makes an ideal choice for capturing selfie shots and videos as the way you would like.

Gesture Mode: First introduced by DJI Spark drone. This intelligent flight mode now has found its way in many low-end drones. The Gesture Mode lets you command the drone using your hand motions. It is one of the popular alternative options to the traditional controller and virtual sticks.

Custom Waypoint Mode: Another intelligent flight mode allows you to customize flight path the way you want. Simply fly the drone over to the point where you would like to drop the waypoint. Once you complete the flight path, the drone will automatically start recording videos for you.

Remote Controller

This part of Cheerwing W1PRO drone review will be focused on the remote controller. On the first impression, this is a bulky remote controller that has chosen to focus on a minimalist approach. Which is a good design choice for beginners and recreational remote pilots? As you can see, the remote controller is free of clutter with a power button in the middle. Furthermore, two levers let you command the drone.

Cheerwing W1PRO Drone Remote Controller

But that’s not all about the remote controller, yet. There are additional buttons located on the back that lets you capture and record videos. The Cheerwing W1PRO drone remote controller comes with a mount holder include so that you can insert your mobile device onto it. To connect the drone camera to your mobile device, you need to download Cheerwing App and link it to the Wi-Fi provided.

The transmission signal range is 200 meters for Wi-Fi but it uses 5G so the quality will be delivered at lighting smooth with low latency. However, if you prefer quality over a live video feed, you can take advantage of buying a 64GB microSD card to go with this camera drone. Since the footage retained on the microSD card will be shown at true resolution quality.

Final Verdict of Cheerwing W1PRO Review

In conclusion of Cheerwing W1PRO drone review, we highly recommend this quadcopter for beginners and recreational remote pilots. If you are thinking of becoming a professional aerial photographer in the future. The Cheerwing W1PRO is a good training quadcopter to start with due to it being GPS-based. In addition to that, it comes with a good camera quality combined with the stellar flight time.

Cheerwing W1PRO Drone Review

Not to forget to mention that it comes with an extra battery. This means you will be able to pilot the drone for up to a total of 36 minutes. Beginners also will be able to fly this quadcopter with ease due to the fact it is outfitted with propeller guards. Which provides the drone additional layer of protection against collision and impact.

Although, its limited remote control distance is a little bit disappointing. It would be nice if Cheerwing actually can extend its maximum remote control distance up to 500 meters to 800 meters. But at the price range, a remote control distance of 250 meters isn’t that bad either considering the fact you get 36 minutes of flight time. So, do we recommend this drone? You can get your hands on this drone via here.

8.2/10 Read review
82 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Cheerwing W1PRO GPS Drone with 1080P Camera for Adults, Quadcopter with Brushless Motor, Auto Return Home, Follow Me, Gesture Control, Long Flight Time - $129.99
Price history
×
Price history for Cheerwing W1PRO GPS Drone with 1080P Camera for Adults, Quadcopter with Brushless Motor, Auto Return Home, Follow Me, Gesture Control, Long Flight Time
Latest updates:
  • $129.99 - January 10, 2020
  • $149.99 - January 6, 2020
Since: January 6, 2020
  • Highest Price: $149.99 - January 6, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $129.99 - January 10, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: February 21, 2020 8:09 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
8.2 Total Score
Editor's Review

Cheerwing W1PRO is a brand new drone featuring built-in GPS module for precise flight controls. It encompasses improved camera that mastefully captures aerial shots and videos with relative ease. Combined with stellar flight time and good remote control distance makes Cheerwing W1PRO one of the popular choice among beginners and recreational remote pilots.

Design
9
Performance
8
Flight Time
9
Features
8
Camera Quality
7
Price
8
PROS
  • Good flight time.
  • Great durability.
  • Built-in GPS module.
  • Reliable and Precise.
  • Easy to fly.
  • Good for beginners and recreational remote pilots.
CONS
  • Limited remote control distance.
  • Quality of camera is ok.
Add your review

Hello, welcome to Aerofly Drones! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Your total score

      Aerofly Drones
      Logo
      Login/Register access is temporary disabled